TRAVEL § EVENTS § PORTRAITS

centrifuge: carmen sampled – rehearsals

Last month, I was invited to document the rehearsals for a new production a good friend of mine was producing and directing. Not sure what to expect, I headed down to UCL and was led deep down into the bowels of the creepily gothic Cruciform Building to meet the artists, Robin Storey and Johanna Devi. Typical of a uni lecture theatre, the stage was cramped, the lighting was awkward and none of the AV plugs fitted into the available ports (not ideal when the show involves video projections!). Pros that they are, the three creative principals didn’t let that deter them, while I tried to be as unobtrusive as possible…..


That was day 1 of rehearsals. I didn’t get to see any of the visuals, but the small fragments of dance and music I did glimpse left me eagerly anticipating the show some three weeks later.

Take a look at the trailer:

I’m processing the performance shots now, and will post them up soon – watch this space!

m§p

ps the automatically generated related posts at the end of this entry aren’t mine – i have no idea how they got there…

One response

  1. Having read this I thought it was extremely informative. I appreciate you taking the time and
    effort to put this article together. I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both
    reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

    8 September 2012 at 4:05 am

Leave a Reply

